Oct 102012

New Delhi: The ICC and the its member boards have agreed not to appoint any of the umpires named in the recently surfaced TV sting operation in any domestic or international tournaments.

“The International Cricket Council (ICC) and its relevant Full Member Boards have agreed not to appoint any of the umpires named in a sting operation recently conducted by India TV to any domestic or international cricket matches pending the outcome of the ongoing investigations into the allegations made,” cricket’s world governing body said in a statement on Wednesday. Continue reading below
Ramprastha Gurgaon

ICC have also directed Sri Lanka, Pakistan and Bangladesh cricket board to conduct an urgent investigation on the matter, since all the six umpires are from these three countries.

“The officials named are not contracted by the ICC and those Boards who employ and nominate the umpires directly will conduct the investigations as a matter of urgency,” it further added.

In a sting operation on Monday, India TV exposed umpires who were ready to accept money to influence their decisions on the field.

The six umpires, who were shown in the sting willing to fix matches, were Nadeem Ghauri and Anees Siddiqui of Pakistan, Nadir Shah of Bangladesh, and Gamini Dissanayake, Maurice Winston and Sagara Gallage of Sri Lanka.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



Answer the following:- *